What I think are the best albums of 2011

I have listed and discussed what I think are the best albums of 2009 and 2010. Now I will give you my third yearly list of best albums of the year.

At number 4 we have “The Road” the debut solo album by Tricia Brock lead singer of the Christian rock group Superchick. It is not as rocky as the releases put out by Superchick being as it is a Christian pop/worship album. The standard release has 11 tracks and the deluxe edition includes an additional two songs. The themes on the album include trusting in God and, finding sanctuary and strength in The Lord (Jesus). The stand out track is the rocky number Everything In Me. I give this album 3.5 out of 5.

At number 3 we have “16 & 1” by country group Doc Walker. This is their seventh and most rock flavoured album to date. I would say the tracks on this project are a bit less stylistically cohesive compared to those found on their past albums which for me is a bit of a draw back. The major themes of the album are love of where you are from, in the case of the men of Doc Walker that would be rural Manitoba, rocking out and being in love. The stand out tracks are the Eagles sounding love song Hard Act To Follow and the slow and most traditionally Doc Walker style love song Do It Right. This is not the album I would recommend if one was to be getting into the band for the first time. For a first intro to the group I would instead recommend their 2001 album Curve or their 2009 release Go. I give the album 3.8 out of 5.

At number 2 is “Lady & Gentlemen” by country singer LeAnn Rimes. It is the second album of hers to feature classic country country songs. The stand out tracks are Swinging, When I Call Your Name, The Bottle Let Me Down, and Give the only new track on the album. I give this album 4.5 out of 5

And at number one is “On the Evening Side” by country singer-songwriter Charlie Major. The songs on this album are don in Charlie’s signature heartfelt style and feature his usual themes of love, living and life. For those that have heard his other albums this album doesn’t offer any new takes but just more of the same wonderful honest songwriting and deliverance. And for as an intro to his music this album would make a fine chose. The stand out tracks are Though Gods Eyes, Keep an Eye Out for Me and Keep On Living. I give this album 4.8 out of 5.

In addition to these 2011 albums I discovered some wonderful ones this year from years past. Here is a list of some of them.

  • The 2010 album “Hanging On By a Thread” by Christian rock group The Letter Black.
  • The original 1995 UK release of the album “Did I Shave My Legs For This?” by country singer Deana Carter. It should be noted that this version of the album only shares three songs with the later 1996 North American release.
  • The 2010 album “Speak Now” by country pop singer Taylor Swift
  • The 2007 EP “Lanae’ Hale” by Christian pop singer Lanae’ Hale
  • The 2009 debut album “Big Sky” by country music duo One More Girl
  • The 2006 pop album “Whatever We Wanna” by country singer Leann Rimes
2 responses to “What I think are the best albums of 2011

  1. Just want to share mine. This 2011, I’ve liked Tenth Avenue North, Josh Wilson and Nevertheless

    Like

Leave a Reply

