Five things I would implement if I was in charge of starting a new UU church

This is not the post I promised about how my beliefs in God are moving my spiritual beliefs inline with Christian beliefs. That post will come next week.

I have already left a comment on the post Say no five times (sure to irritate everyone) over on fellow Unitarian Universalist Scott Wells’ blog Boy In The Band but I thought I would also come up with a list of the five things I would implement if I was in charge of starting a new Unitarian Universalist (UU) church. Here is my list just keep in mind that this list only reflects what I would ideal like to see in my dream UU church if I had complete control over things. This is a list of the five things in addition to what you could most likely expect to be included in a UU church. So here is my list.

  • It would have Sunday worship services that would be experientially focused rather than head centred. This would mean the form that the worship cervices would take would be one that resembles greatly the one that is used by UU youth at their youth conferences and young adults at their camp weekends. These would be ones that are facilitated by the minister but put on by members of the church community interested in worship and its elements (ritual, music and readings ect). This worship service would be one that would leave the worshipers with a sense that their souls had been touched and that they had been moved spiritually.
  • We would have an environment that encouraged lots of exploration of God. This exploration of God would happen in the Sunday worship services, the children’s RE classes, the youth group and the adult learning classes just to name a few. The mane porpoise of this exploration of God would be to bring the church goers closer to God as well as to make the church a place were his love over flows.
  • Music would be a key part of the church. Not just through a church choir and the singing of a few hymns every Sunday in the worship service but, through music being a part of the full religious life of the church by being a central part of each of it’s attendees own spiritual lives. Loud and emotionally focused stiles of music would also be come part of the everyday mix including rock and modern country music songs plus other song don in thees styles, yes ones with lyrics that call the worshipper to be closer with God and be remind of his ever available love for them.
  • The church would have church goers that put their religious life at the centre of their lives. That means ahead of spurts and other extracurricular activity like Scots ect.
  • The church would be a central hub for the wider community it is located in. Yes the wider local community members would feel comfortable coming and hanging out at the church.

I will summarize what my church will be all about. It will be a God centred church. One with church goers who’s lives are centred on religion, their religious home and the spiritual growth and spiritual maturity of their fellow spiritual seekers. Thy will use ecstatic worship and loud emotional music to help them get closer to God and to help have his love pore all over them and their church. They will work at making their church a safe and loving place for them to hang with their fellow humans from the surrounding community.

5 responses to “Five things I would implement if I was in charge of starting a new UU church

  1. i feel like there are a lot of elements you mention wanting very alive & present in my UU home (People’s Church of Kalamazoo, MI). hopefully you find a church home that has what you’re looking for. best wishes in your hunt!

    Like

    • Thanks TinaCole. In Canada ware I am UU folks have really only one choice and that is be involved in the UU church in their aria if they are lucky enough to have one or not go to church at all. Lucky for me I have fond most of them pretty good even though I do not know of one that has most of these five things as a part of their church make up. That is not a knock at them. It just means in my view they have loots of room to go to be com OH MY GOD KNOCK YOURSELVES OUT GOOD kind of churches.

      Like

  2. Devin, you’ve seen my responses over at Boy in the Bands. Let me just add that the church outlined in your five points is definitely one I would respect, one not at all at odds with my values and tastes as long as “God” is open rather than nailed down. (Yes, I am aware of the consequences of my metaphor…)

    Worship that exhibited these aims and values would definitely be attractive to me.

    Blessings!

    Like

    • Paul you may not find my worship as appealing as you first thought as it would have little to no sermon. Instead it would have allot more small readings and the central element would be a ritual or a series of rituals that help those participating in the service, includes those who are putting it on and those who have come to be part of it, to connect and experience the theme of the worship. I could be wrong. About the God of the church I would love it ideally to be a Trinitarian one. See my last post and the one coming up next week for more of my beliefs on God which will give you more incite as to what kind of God I would like it to be. I would also like to add that this would be a church where all mutually agree to theses thing. Also I wrought this as a bit of a lets imagine a church to my tats and see if others would like the same thing or if others have ideas of their ideal church kind of an exercise. ‘Cause it is only by us being bold enough to say what we would idly like to see in our church communities that we will ever start to craft our churches into paces that have enough spaces for all of us to feel deeply religiously nourished and satisfied.

      Like

      • Sermon, shmermon! As I’ve said before, waaaay over-emphasized in most UU and Protestant churches. I prefer smaller readings with ritual and lots of music. And while I definitely am not a Trinitarian, I can translate trinitarian language symbolically. I do it a lot when I visit my best friend in the (Roman Catholic) Trappist monastery where he is a monk. Give me a chanted Night Prayer in the monastery chapel and I’m happy as a pig in crap. You and I certainly do not share a theology – at least not in its details. But what does that matter in a faith that is defined not by beliefs but by our covenants with each other?

        Like

Leave a Reply

