What I think are the best rock albums of the 2000s

I said in a past post of mine that I was not much of a rock fan in the 90’s but rather more of a country music fan. Well starting about 2003 I started discovering all kinds of rock music that I like. That dose not mean I am any less of a country music fan. Well since I have moved to Montreal in September of 2009, a city without a country music radio station I find myself listing to a lot more rock. Not one the radio ’cause I find Montreal’s music radio landscape just atrocious but, rather over on the internet. So here is a list of the twelve best rock albums from the 2000s that I have listened to the most and continue to listen to the most. Number one is the one I have listened to and continue to listen to the most.

1. Krystal Meyers – Make Some Noise
2. Plumb – Chaotic Resolve
3. Superchick – Beauty From Pain
4. BarlowGirl – Another Journal Entry
5. Avril Lavigne – Let Go
6. Mutt Math – Reset
7. Krystal Meyers – Krystal Meyers
8. Paramore – All We Know Is Falling
9. Paramore – Brand New Eyes
10. Superchick – Last One Picked
11. Fireflight – Unbreakable
12. Avril Lavigne – Under My Skin

4 responses to “What I think are the best rock albums of the 2000s

  1. Mmm…I haven’t heard of any of those acts. Except Avril Lavigne. I have some bad news for you – she’s most definitely not rock. 😦

    Like

  2. kevmoore her first two albums definitely are rock, but her next I will agree is definitely not. You are allowed to have your own opinions. Though it should be noted that I am using the term rock in a loos way. Take for example the definition of rock music that Wiktionary has (as of 2:40 PDT on Saturday Jun 19th) “A style of music characterized by basic drum-beat, generally 4/4 riffs, based on (usually electric) guitar, bass guitar, drums, and vocals.” Given this definition of rock, then her first two albums are definitely rock. Why you have never heard of any of the other acts on this list is probably a result of you not listening to spiritually centred rock music of any sort.

    Like

  3. Do Kings X count?

    On the basis that “its in wiki, so it has to be true” – I have to agree 😉 – though I have seen Avril live, and would describe her as Power pop ( in her first 2 album era)

    Like

  4. Good list even though you included too much Paramore and Avril Lavigne,
    I’m not sure about the best albums but my favorites were:

    30 Seconds To Mars – A Beautiful Lie
    Avril Lavigne – Under My Skin
    Coldplay – X&Y
    Evanescence – Fallen
    Green Day – American Idiot
    Kelly Clarkson – Breakaway
    Linkin Park – Meteora
    Muse – Black Holes and Revelations
    My Chemical Romance – Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge
    Nickelback – All The Right Reasons
    Panic! at the Disco – A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out
    System Of A Down – Toxicity
    The All-American-Rejects – Move Along
    The Rasmus – Black Roses
    The Used – In Love And Death

    Like

Leave a Reply

