A personal journey to loving God – God loving UUs and a need for acceptance in the UU fold

As I’m a strong Unitarian Universalist (UU) identifying person who grew up and is still active in the UU religion, it might come as quit a shock to those of you who know anything about UUism that, over the past at least seven years or so I’ve come more and more to believe in God. As you might know it’s ok for all those involved in UU community, be it official member UUs or just mere friends of UU to openly give praise and show support for the gays and lesbians within the UU fold and their right to live as who they are within UU community. But do the majority of UUs show the same courtesy for anther of the minorities within UU, the God loving UUs (of which I’m now one myself)? I would say not. To borrow a phrase often expressed by the gay and lesbians in our society at large, I would say sometimes I feel I have to hide in the closet, well my belief in God and my need to honour and praise him from my fellow UUs that is. I say this ought not to be so seeing as my fellow UUs like to loudly proclaim that they respect and even welcome those who have different beliefs from them into the UU fold (so long as they don’t impinge on their right to express what they individually believe, or intentionally heart anyone, which I think is only fair).

So how did I come to this belief in God? One only has to look at the forth principle of the UU list of seven principles which is as fallows “a free and responsible search for truth and meaning”. Yes it was through a search for truth and meaning, well more accurately, a need to find truth and meaning, that has led me to this belief. But I have always kept in mind the other parts of this principle as well. For one my responsibility to have a responsible search. By responsible I interpret it in great UU fashion as my responsibility to not assume that what I find to be truths that work for me (that include my belief in God) to be truths that will work for others or even things to which I should impose on them. But then there’s the last part, the free part. This part of the principle is the part that I fell some UUs don’t fully grasp. To me it doesn’t just mean allowing someone the space to search and seek for their truths, but also the space needed to tryout what is being discovered or may have been discovered as a result of this search and seeking.

So why would they have a problem with us, the God loving UUs trying out we have discovered and are discovering? Well one reason for this is likely the fact that many UUs came to UUism fleeing Christian denominations, like Roman Catholic and Anglican, and as a result have negative associations linked to the concept of God, to which many who come from a different back ground, take me for example, who was raised UU may not have. Well one of the things they may have observed is people in authority using the concept of God to justify harsh or restrictive rules or actions, those leaving their faith in God shaken. I for one never have observed this. In fact it wasn’t until I was having a sever crises of faith that I really started giving the concept of God any real consideration.

My belief in God came from a crises of faith. Well actually to be more accurate I have always been on the brink of taking the God belief plunge and it was only this crises that pushed my to certainty in Him (God). So why did it take me 20 years and a crises to start to believe in God. The reason for this I would say was the fact that as a child I had mostly secular humanist and atheist for Sunday school teachers, who in my children’s religious exploration classes told me more about human sexuality and things about science then what they believed about religion (all worthy thinks to teach to children). Sure they did encourage me to search for my religious beliefs, but it was only through brief and as I now know insufficient glimpses of what others believed in, and rarely what UUs believe and never what they believed abut religion. I guess even if the concept of God was something that I needed, it was always going to take a crises for me to believe in Him. Well ‘cause I knew no UUs that believed or at least expressed openly a belief in God as a child. But I could never fully go join them in their rejection of God. And with this crises of faith I began to come to my belief in God over the past seven years or so.

The crises of faith of mine was precipitated by the fact that I had bad thing don to me as well as hearing of bad thing having been don to others. Things like bullying and the divorce of parents. All things that I could not and still can not accept as having happened for no reason. I felt and still feel they most have happened for some divine reason, either to teach use some lesion or to move our lives in a better direction. Also the fact that I could not accept the fact that evolution to which I did and still do believe in, just some how spontaneously started to happen and evolve over time. I still believe this about evolution.

So why do I believe in God? Because I believe that creation was not something that just spontaneously started to happen one day and the fact that bad things to which we experience must be brought to be for some useful reason. And ‘cause I believe in God I feel the need to honour Him and yes even praise Him. Yes all things to which leave many of the former Christians within the UU fold uneasy.

10 responses to “A personal journey to loving God – God loving UUs and a need for acceptance in the UU fold

  1. Interesting. I would say that the UU experience is shifting towards a new spiritual uprising – you would fit right in.

    Like

  2. Well you know where I stand on this one – May God be with you!

    Like

  3. There is a revolving door between belief and unbelief. I am current reading JESUS, INTERRUPTED by Bart Ehrman who became a Christian as a teenager but who has grown into agnosticism due to what he sees as unnecessary suffering in the world.

    I would not say there is one correct position on this but the UU faith is pre-Christian as well as post-Christian. I think in a few more years you will more than likely move to the middle to some degree.

    Like

  4. There are UU congregations where your religion would be accepted – there are some in New England where theistic views are welcome.
    Good luck!

    Like

  5. There are indeed some predominantly theistic U*U churches in the U.S.A. Dudley but I getb the distinct impression that most if not all Canadian U*U congregations are mostly populated by atheist and agnostic Humanist U*Us including some rather intolerant “fundamentalist atheists”. I wish you luck Devin and expect that you will need it in the Canadian U*U community. I have been exposing and denouncing the anti-religious intolerance and bigotry of “fundamentalist atheist” U*Us, including bigoted and abusive “Humanist” U*U clergy, for over a decade now and see no evidence of the UUA or CUC responsibly adressing this serious problem that makes to many U*U “churches” anything but welcoming congregations to God believing people. The fact that anti-religious ads were published in the U*U World magazine recently shows that there is still plenty of work that needs to be done before U*Uism is consistently welcoming to God believing people.

    Like

  6. Thanks you all for your positive and encouraging comments, they are most appreciated.

    Like

  7. Interesting point, Mickbic, about there being a revolving door between belief and unbelief. Very true in some respects, at least in my experience. Although perhaps it’s too too simple to see it as switching from belief to unbelief, maybe just a continual re-evaluation and critique of one’s own beliefs, which is probably a healthy process to have ongoing in one’s life.

    Like

  8. Thanks Curtis:

    At my family’s Christmas meal I simply quoted from First Corinthians: whether therefore ye eat or drink or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God. Yet I identify with Diderot: it’s important to know the difference between hemlock and parsley, not so important whether you believe in God or not. One of my daughters has moved from atheism to theism due to something my mother said to her. I am currently slogging through THE ORIGIN OF SPECIES, all along probably believing more in intelligent design rather than evolution. It’s interesting the diversity one person can experience.

    Like

  9. Intelligent design and evolution are not mutually exclusive Mickbic. An intelligent designer and creator of the Universe could have designed it from the beginning in such a manner that intelligent life would evolve from lower life forms over time.

    Like

  10. I agree with you Robin. One of my brothers who is Anglican has pointed that out to me. The faith of the fundamentalists Christians of my childhood wanted nothing to do with the theory of evolution; it interfered with their literal interpretation of the book of Genesis. I am having some difficulty getting away from that to the position that Michael Dowd espouses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

