Picture this…

Picture a 4-year-old-kid standing on the front steps of his families downtown Toronto co-op townhouse, sporting a winter coat, his small snazzy rainbow stripe-patterned backpack and his red winter hat. And picture him eagerly asking, is it time to ones again take the ferry over to Centre Island for school (or something to that effect). And picture his mom saying no it is not, you still have to what a hour (or something like that). And picture the little boy doing this every day for two whole school years (fall to spring). Now picture this same kid much older living in Russell, a small town just east of Canada’s capital Ottawa. And picture him every weekday (fall to spring) tacking a ride in a school bus company bus and sometimes even in a minivan to high school at Rockland District High School in the town of Rockland. And get this if you can, picture him feeling in order to make it throw the days their, a walkman playing, wen ever he gets the chains to turn it on, his favourite new country and oldies rock ‘n’ roll songs is needed. Now if you can contrast the to scenes what do you notice. Well you find in the first one, unbridled joy radiating out in all directions from the little boy. And in the second, the boy is trying to make it throw something, which he finds not that, pleasant. Now contrast the second scene with the scene portrayed in this poem I wrote.

Help Me Up
Oh I don’t want to be abused, ooh again
Oh I don’t want to be abused, ooh today
Help me up
Help me up

Oh I Have just bin abused, oh yeah again
Oh I didn’t want to be abused, ooh today
Help me up
Help me up

Oh it happened on a school bus, ooh today
Oh for no good reason, oh I got punched
None helped me
Help me up

Oh it’s not the first, not the first time
It began with the hurtful act of name calling
Help me up
Help me up

Know-ones addressing it
Wens it ending
Wen is it going to end, end for good
Wen is it going to end, end for good

Help me up to the point of moving on
But not forgetting that this is, wrong so wrong

Oh I don’t want to be abused, ooh again
Oh I don’t want to be abused, ooh today
Help me up
Help me up

So in the third scene, the one, protrude in the poem, you see that the situation for the boy has gotten mush worse.
So you are probably wandering now what happened to him. Well I can assure you he is now doing the best he can do. And how would I now this you maybe sacking yourself. Well I was this boy. And believe it or not, he has decided with his best friend Joel Fox and his Brother Curtis, to undertake a process that will hopefully lead to, the founding of a high school. One, which will lead to at least some kids, not having to go throw anything like this.

Leave a Reply

