I feel it regretful…

I feel it regretful that I never tried to share the joys I was experiencing at my church, throw its youth group, with my fellow classmates, and that I never shared the pain I was experiencing at school with my fellow youth groupers. I guess it was all because I didn’t want to bring pain to my youth group, a place I vowed as near as possible as their ever could be, to a heaven on Earth. And I couldn’t well at least in my eyes, find the words which would allow me to share my youth group experiences with my classmates at school. So as a result I would say I overcompensated wen I was attending my youth group with silliness. ‘Shore I have always remembered being silly but note all the time which is what it felt like I was bowing, will I was attending my youth group. So what did this result in for me well a feeling of having a compartmentalized personality which I know now was just a coping mechanism, one which I am just beginning to shed. So hear is a poem I wrote which might help to more clearly illustrate this.

You Saved Me
Crazy good was I wen in your presence
Always smilin’ happy so you’d never know oh…
You, saved me
You, saved me

Yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah

My perception said that your presence was perfection
But perfection decent last long unlike bad memories
They, linger on mind
Linger, on my mind

Yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah

You gave me some good Sunday mornin’ times
And those weekend youth conference trips to oh…
You, you saved me
You, you saved me

Youth Group if it wasn’t for you oh…
Hight School name calling would’ve don me in
Fore-sure, don me in
don, me in for-sure

Yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah

Crazy good was I wen in your presence
Ya-ya, ya-ya, ya-ya, ya-ya, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
Always smilin’ happy oh…
You, you saved me

Smilin’ happy
Smilin’ happy
Smilin’ happy
Smilin’ happy…

One response to “I feel it regretful…

  1. Hey Devin,
    I always enjoy your poetry so much and for some reason it always sounds so musical, as though you are SINGING it, not writing it. Too bad I don’t know the tune or I’d join along with you, maybe even in harmony (being an alto, you know!).
    Keep all that good stuff coming Devin-it just keeps getting better and so do you!
    XO
    Diane

    Like

Leave a Reply

